Bipolar Parent/Child

It is hard being a bipolar parent because you have not only yourself to watch over you have to b careful that your moods do affect your children.When you are a bipolar parent and you have a bipolar child life is twice as hard. I forget that stress affects me so deeply and it affects my child even more and he has had a pretty tough life as it is already. My son has been super stressed about getting his drivers license because he has a difficult time with parallel parking.

We do not parallel park anywhere locally but it is required to pass the test and he doesnt want to fail. For a child getting their drivers license is paramount and to fail would be such a slap in the face and the feeling of such a failure can be so devastating. I have taken the time to step back and look at my son and I see his fear which makes me look at him in an entirely new way as he isnt being difficult he is just afraid.

I think I have found a place that do not put alot of stock in the parking because they know that we just do not parallel park around here and from what I have heard they actually help the kids so this will be a good thing or so I hope. Once the house is sold and we move I will be able to afford another car and then my son can get a job and drive himself to school in the fall. He wants to get a job and I think that would be really good for his self esteem.

Big Rick tells me that my son is always so polite and I have no doubt that he is because he just has that type of personality that everyone likes. He is an Aquarius and most aquarians are very friendly  and likable and they have a way of just getting you to like them. He is a good boy and I just have to remember he is still growing and the stress really  affects how he reacts to me at times.

Leave a Reply

