Teachers That Don’t Care

My daughter works very hard to have a good g.p.a. and she is taking classes at the local Community College this summer to save money and to get her credits. She attends the University of Detroit Mercy which is a Catholic college and she is doing great there. The instructor for her accounting class at the Community college doesn’t give a shit and her class is supposed to run from 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. but he lets the class go around 11 a.m. at the latest.

He isn’t even giving the class 1/2 the instruction the pay for and the first test they took most of the class only got about 60% correct. This has my daughter very upset and I don’t blame her but I have helped to alleviate her stress by informing her that she has the right to file a grievance against the teacher at the end of the semester. The teacher is being paid to provide 4 hours of instruction per week and since he isn’t he is committing fraud.

I went to the same community college on and off since the early 80’s and I had a similar problem with an instructor. I turned in all of my assignments and didn’t miss a single class and he gave me a C- and he gave the black students that didn’t turn in homework or came to class A-s. He was a black instructor and I filed a grievance and he changed my grade to the A that I should have gotten to begin with. My daughters instructor thinks he is dealing with a bunch of ignorant students that do not know that they have recourse.

I told my daughter what her options were and she feels so much better but I also told her to keep this information close to the cuff until the last class and then she can tell the other students. The school will not be happy when they find out that this instructor is being paid for hours of instruction he did not give the students. My daughter is working towards graduating a year early and her last semester of school she will be spending in  Washington D. C. working with attorneys.

It’s such a shame that there is nothing sacred and you have to watch your ass and know how to protect yourself in every walk of life, even in the educational system. I am not surprised that this instructor is doing what he is doing because greed and laziness has become the American way for so many. I will not stand by and let this instructor get away with this shit and I will be paying him a visit the last class and making it perfectly clear that if my daughter doesn’t receive an A I will take his ass down and he will never teach there again and yes I will do it without an ounce of guilt.

Leave a Reply

