Orange

Shelby and I just finished watching the new season of Orange is the New Black on Netflix and I love this show! You will never see it on regular tv because of the nudity but this show is so entertaining without the nudity and I would really like to see it on regular broadcasting. I was in jail so I can relate to quite a bit of the show and yes some of it is quite far fetched but most of it is really what it is like.

There are women with tattoos, lesbians and those that think they are bad asses and yes the food reminds me of something maggots would eat. You have to watch your toilet paper because you only get one roll a week for two people and if your roomie is on the toilet too much then you are literally shit out of luck. All you have to look forward to is your next meal and food is used to barter with.

Some of the girls had money put on a tab for them and they could buy stuff from the store that came around once a week. We got to go to the gym an hour every couple of days and we got to see someone who was supposed to help us as far as contacting family or our lawyer. The woman who was supposed to do that for us threw away the numbers and never made a single damn call for anyone.

We were woke up at 6 a.m. and the tv was on at 9 a.m. so all we had to do was to eat and watch tv, shower, sleep or work out in our cells. The doors were left unlocked but we were not allowed in another’s cell. I was so lucky because our toilet plugged up and our room smelled like shit constantly and we couldn’t get anyone to fix it. They eventually moved us to another cell and a big day for me was getting an apple for lunch.

I lived on apples because the food was so bad and so damn gross. We had one shower and it was filthy and so damn gross and the toilet was at the front of the cell so everyone could watch you take a shit, how exciting is that??? I was there for two weeks and all I did was stay in my cell and read, yes we were allowed some books and I read everything from religious stuff to love stories.

You have no idea what it is like to lose your freedom and to live within four walls and I can tell you it isn’t something you would like to experience.  I was finally released because my daughter finally got to my bank account and my checks had been deposited and I can tell you it was the best feeling in the world. I was so happy to get out of that place that I didn’t even wait to get my meds released and I will never end up in that situation again!

Leave a Reply

