Attitude

When you are dealing with someone with bipolar disorder and they are not taking their meds there is only one way to get them to do as you ask. You must adjust your attitude, not put them down, don’t yell at them, just ask them in an even toned voice and they usually will comply. I have noticed this is the only way my son will do as I ask and we have been getting on nicely the past two days.

My son has a bad temper and he gets really nasty when I show my anger towards him so I have adopted a new way of dealing with him and that is adjusting my attitude. He is an avid League of Legends player and we sat and talked about the game today and it was common ground that kept us talking instead of fighting. It’s hard for me to remember to be nice and not to bitch because I get so overwhelmed with so much shit to care for every day.

My son isn’t a bad kid he just has issues that need to be medicated but he refuses to comply and I cannot make him. He is so damn intelligent but refuses to apply himself in school because he hates school and gets bored easily, I am hoping to get him enrolled in college this fall so he can finish high school and work at college at the same time. He says he wants to be a teacher which blows my mind because he called one of his teachers a cunt  and that didn’t go over well, not at all.

He makes me so damn mad at times I could spit bullets but I have to remember he is only seventeen and has an illness as well. Sometimes, we do not look at our children in the way we should and we do not treat them as we should and that brings out a side of their personalities that is undesirable at best. I try to be the best mom I can be but I have not quite got a grasp on the perfect parent and doubt I ever will.

Leave a Reply

